Choreographer: Harold Rheaume | Photo: Rodney S. Braun


“The School of Contemporary Dancers’ teaching staff is comprised of three full-time master core faculty and a diversity of esteemed guest instructors. The quality of the core teaching staff and guests is unparalleled.” – Canadian Heritage Assessor

Directors, Teachers & Guests


Rachel Browne, C.M.: School Founder
Odette Heyn, C.M.: Professional Program Co-Founder
Faye Thomson, C.M.: Professional Program Co-Founder


Odette Heyn, C.M.: Co-Director / Resident Rehearsal Director
Faye Thomson, C.M.: Co-Director / Resident Rehearsal Director
Stephanie Ballard: Artist-in-Residence / Archivist / Resident Rehearsal Director
Gaile Petursson-Hiley: Artistic Associate / Resident Rehearsal Director
Paula Blair: Resident Rehearsal Director
Claude de Moissac: Accompanist
Shirley Grierson: Accompanist
David Schneider: Accompanist

Guest Faculty

The Program draws extensively on acclaimed artists from the Winnipeg professional community and also features several national and international renowned guests each year as guest faculty and in artistic collaborations. Recent and upcoming guests include: Jolene Bailie, Marc Boivin, Susie Burpee, Marie-Josée Chartier, Constance Cooke, Lina Cruz, Bill Evans, Mehdi Farajpour, Christopher House, Sylvain Lafortune, Brent Lott, Davida Monk, Jennifer Mascall, Christina Medina, Casimiro Nhussi, Meagan O’Shea, Robin Poitras, Edward Poitras, Peter Quanz, Harold Rhéaume, Rebecca Sawdon, Linnea Swan, Darryl Tracy, Robyn Thomson-Kacki, Jera Wolfe

Core Administrative Staff

Hillary Smith: School Administrator
Dwight Chmilnisky: Financial Manager

Board of Directors

Ellen Oberlander: Co-Chair
Trish Smerchanski: Co-Chair
Rhonda Smerchanski: Treasurer/Secretary
Spencer Duncanson
Holly Harris
Jennifer Litchfield
Odette Heyn, C.M.
Faye Thomson, C.M.